Planning Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of each month, as needed
  • City Hall
    9765 Maple Street
    Bridgman, MI 49106

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.

​Planning Commission Bylaws

Draft Master Plan - 2019

The Michigan Planning Enabling Act (PA 33 of 2008) requires that planning commissions request legislative bodies to approve the distribution of proposed master plans.  Our planning commission took such action on March 21, 2019.


  • Steven Parsons, Chairman
    Term expires April 2022
  • Mark Hurray, Vice Chairman
    Term expires April 2021
  • Dorothea Crocker
    Term expires April 2020
  • Richard Kading
    Term expires April 2021


  • Eugene Herrman
    Term expires April 2020
  • John Truesdell
    Term expires April 2022
  • Thomas Woerdehoff
    Term expires April 2022


The Bridgman City Planning Commission consist of a seven (7) member board, appointed by the Mayor to four (4) year terms. The duty of the Planning Commission is to make and adopt a master plan for the physical development of the City of Bridgman, including areas outside its boundaries which affect the planning for the City.


The powers and duties of the Planning Commission are conferred under PA 285 of the Public Acts of 1931, as amended (Mich Stat. Ann 5.2991, et seq), of the laws of the State of Michigan, include but are not limited to:

  • Adoption of a Master Plan
  • Preparation of a Zoning Plan
  • Preparation of comprehensive surveys and studies of present conditions and future growth of the city
  • Review and recommendations of streets, parks, or other public ways, grounds, open spaces, public buildings or structures